Reviews

7.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.8
Property location
8.1
Facilities
6.7
Staff
7.7
Value
6.8

Reviews

    CDT70
    ca

    Review score

    3.3
    21 February 2018

    over-priced hostel with loud drunks all over and late at night.

    Our stay was very bad and I would not recommend anyone to stay here unless they want hostel style accommodation. We booked 2 nights at Kounsavan Guest House. I stayed only 1 night. Kounsavan misrepresented its facilities, services and type of accommodation. 1. The Guest House is really just part of a large hostel. Many drunk and loud young people. Very loud noise all over Guest House area and hostel until 11pm. Then very loud drunken young people returning from bars at 12pm, 12.30am, 1am and finally at 2am. Security staff never asked them to be quiet at all. I was somewhat scared by the loud, sometimes angry voices I DID NOT SLEEP UNTIL 2AM. I could not stay at Kounsavan another night. Kounsavan listing on Booking.com did not warn me that it is part of a large hostel and did not warn me that there would likely be loud noise all night. 2. Wifi in rooms did not connect to internet. I asked staff to fix Wifi, but they did not. I had to go to the reception area to use internet. This was very difficult for me to manage my business affairs back home. 3. Booking.com listings said TV in rooms. remote control did not work and the TV could not function without it. we asked to have remote control fixed. Staff said that needed new batteries. The man took the remote control and did not return. We could not watch TV. 4. The shower curtail was disgusting. It has black stains and smelled of mold and mildew. I asked for staff to replace or clean it, but they did not. When we left, the manager said that he would charge me for 2 nights even though we only stayed for 1 night. I complained to customer service at booking.com. Thankfully they refunded me one night stay. I would definitely use booking.com again but I certainly would not recommend anyone stay at this Guesthouse unless they want to be in a hostel Style place
    Belgian Manager spoke excellent English and was helpful. Swimming pool was decent but very basic sitting area.
    Alex
    ie

    Review score

    8.8
    9 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Santako
    th

    Review score

    9.2
    3 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Amy Steinberg
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sk

    Review score

    8.8
    29 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Susan
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    19 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Teresa
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    13 January 2018

    Ok for a short stay

    Location
    Norberto
    br

    Review score

    5.0
    13 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    2.5
    11 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Peggy
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    7 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    4.6
    4 January 2018

    Not worth it

    Lots of litter and scrap adjacent
    Pick up service from airport
    au

    Review score

    5.0
    22 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    alexandra alevetsoviti
    gr

    Review score

    7.1
    19 December 2017

    Location

    Looked old and not so clean.
    Location and pool
    Leonidastraveler
    gr

    Review score

    10
    3 December 2017
    Friendly stuff,clean rooms,very nice spot, value for money what else could you ask for???
    Carolyn
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    25 February 2018

    More like a hostel than a bed and breakfast.

    The facilities were not very good. There were holes in the door, the lock had been damaged and looked like it had been opened with a screwdriver or something, there was no security chain of other lock, air conditioning didn't work properly, the sheets were stained, mosquito nets had huge holes in them, the towels were threadbare, there were holes in the bathroom ceiling, the shower was in a difficult position, the shower curtain had mold growing on it and the toilet made weird noises and splashed up water on the floor several times in the middle of the night. In addition, the hotel was being torn down the day I left even while guests were still there. The swimming pool didn't have a ladder, and as I'm older I wasn't able to use it.
    Staff and location were the best parts. They were very helpful with directions and answering questions. The location was great. Close enough to walk, but in a quiet section.
    William
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    20 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michal
    us

    Review score

    2.5
    11 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    9 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sidney
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    29 January 2018

    Good distance from town with extremely comfy beds.

    It’s really good if you’re looking for a hostel feel.
    The beds were some of the most comfy I have slept on in SE Asia so far.
    Pascale
    fr

    Review score

    5.8
    24 January 2018

    Cheerless and not so cheap

    Although the owner works hard, the place is woefully understaffed, which probably accounts for why it is so dirty. Dust everywhere, torn mosquito nets, bare wires begging to start a fire. Basically it's a scruffy hostel for bikers, and you don't get much value if you stay in a private room. Partiers will regularly wake you up at 2 AM. There's no local breakfast option, and it's hard to find anything on the menu if you're allergic to eggs. The breakfast service tends to be slow and haphazard since the place seems to be full to capacity more or less all the time. Few English TV channels. Given that there are hundreds of guesthouses in Luang Prabang, there's no particular reason to choose this one.
    The large swimming pool (except there's no ladder of any kind to get in or out!) The owner did provide a stronger bulb when I told her the room was too dark to see anything in, let alone read. Good to meet young people.
Loading reviews